Monday, February 14, 2011

‎2.6.4 Referees may call an Official Timeout at any point. This will stop the clock so that referees have time to review a call or adjust the number of skaters on the floor. (See Section 2.8.2.2)

This is true except for one situation, which was covered in a clarification during last year’s tournament season. The WFTDA Official Q&A clarified that if the period clock has 30 second or less remaining on it, an Official Timeout must not be called. If, however, an Official Timeout is required, then the period clock will expire at the end of the Timeout, and the period and/or game will be over.

The official clarification can be found at:

http://wftda.com/rules/qa/no-additional-jam-after-official-timeout

http://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/101907273222948