Friday, March 11, 2011

‎6.10.8 Skaters may not assist teammates outside the Engagement Zone.

I feel like people pay very close attention to the rule that says skaters may not block opponents while out of play, while this rule gets overlooked. I find it odd when I meet people who don’t know about this rule since it actually appears two other times in the rule:

4.3.2.2 Skaters who are out of play may not assist their Jammer or other teammates.
4.3.2.5 Skaters may not assist teammates outside the Engagement Zone.

The rules definitely make this point very clear. Out of play is out of play, no matter what it is you’re trying to accomplish. Out of play blocks are illegal, and so are out of play assists.

http://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/190143231024541