Friday, May 20, 2011

5.1.3 A skater who is in play and stepping and/or skating (i.e. not down or at a standstill) in the counter-clockwise direction may block or engage an opposing player at any time during the jam after their start whistle has blown.

This rule explains that skaters may not block or engage opponents until their start whistle has blown; the first whistle for Blockers, the second whistle for Jammers. Skaters who block or engage before their start whistle will earn an Illegal Procedure penalty. 

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/206128049426059