Sunday, May 29, 2011

No Pass/No Penalty is an official hand signal used by referees to indicate that a skater has moved in front of another skater legally, but without completing a proper pass.

A lot of people are confused by the No Pass/No Penalty hand signal, and when it is used. It is actually pretty simple. There’s really only a couple of ways that a skater can move in front of another skater legally and not have it count as a legal pass. Both of these are done while the skater is out of bounds. The NP/NP hand signal is typically only used when this situation occurs, since the absence of a legal pass by a Jammer also means that they don’t receive a point for the passing of that skater. As discussed on a previous day, a Jammer scores a point when they:

8.3.1 Pass opposing skaters in bounds, legally, without committing penalties.

If a Jammer commits a penalty, then the pass wasn’t made legally. If the pass was in bounds, and without penalties, then it is a legal pass. Thus the only way a NP/NP can happen is if the pass is made out of bounds without committing penalties. That can happen in a few ways:

- A skater, while out of bounds, passes in front of a downed skater and returns to the track.
- A skater, while out of bounds, passes in front of another out of bounds skater, and returns to the track.
- A skater, having been blocked out of bounds, returns to the track in front of the skater who blocked her out, who also went out of bounds after the block.

In all three situations, the skater who passed and returned to the track made a pass while out of bounds, but did not receive a penalty for it. If that skater was a Jammer, then they would not have made a legal pass, per 8.3.1, since it was made while out of bounds, and they also did not receive a penalty for the action. Thus, they their action resulted in no pass, and no penalty.

When the passing skater is not a Jammer, the pass is negligible, since they aren’t scoring anyway, so all that need be done is not apply a penalty to them. When the passing skater is a Jammer, since a skater was passed but no point or penalty applied, her jam ref (or another referee who sees it) should signal the No Pass/No Penalty hand signal to indicate why no point or penalty was being applied.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/208142202557977