Tuesday, June 7, 2011

‎6.4.1 When engaging another skater, elbows may not be swung with a forward/backward motion.

This is the first explanation of what constitutes an illegal Use of Elbows. Illegal elbow actions are usually quite simple to catch. By this rule, a skater would be performing an illegal elbows action most likely when in front of or behind an opponent. If the skater's arm swings forward or back, and the elbow makes contact with the opponent and causes her to adjust her skating stance, or lose position, then that would be a Use of Elbows penalty, minor or major based on impact, according to section 6.4. There is more to Elbows, and will be covered over the next couple of days.

http://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/210183445687186