Sunday, July 10, 2011

6.11.1 Re-entering behind the initiator of the block When sent out of bounds by a block, an opponent must re-enter the track without bettering her position in relation to other skaters. ...

Because today's rule is too long for Facebook, here is the full text:

When sent out of bounds by a block, an opponent must re-enter the track without bettering her position in relation to other skaters. Re-entering the track from out of bounds in front of the initiator of the block is improving your relative position, regardless of who is in front when the block is executed. An in-bounds skater who forces an opponent out of bounds earns and establishes superior position. A skater may not return in bounds in front of the skater who blocked her out of bounds, except under the following circumstances where no penalty is to be issued:

The idea behind this rule is very simple. If one skater blocks another skater out of bounds legally, then the initiating skater has established a superior position and has gained advantage by being in bounds while the receiver is out of bounds. Therefore, the receiver, being in the inferior position, must return to the track behind the skater with the advantage. If the receiver returns in front of the initiator, she has not been properly disadvantaged, and therefore is subject to a Cutting The Track penalty. This advantage is maintained by the initiator unless she gives it up by one of four ways - the subrules of today's rule - all of which will be covered in the next week.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/221460677892796