Monday, July 11, 2011

6.11.1.1 When the initiating skater is considered “in the box,” having been sent off the track for a penalty (see ).

As explained Sunday (http://www.rollerderbyrule​oftheday.com/2011/07/6111-​re-entering-behind-initiat​or-of.html), after a skater has blocked out an opponent the receiver must enter behind the initiator, except in four specific situations. Today's rule is the first exception.

If, after the initiator blocks out the receiver, the initiator is sent to the penalty box, the receiver may enter in front of the initiator. Granted, if the initiator is sent to the box there is no "in front" of her since she is now considered in the box, not on the track, so this rule isn't entirely necessary. It is good, though, to have it spelled out. This rule also doesn't say that the initiator must go to the box as a result of the block on the receiver. If the initiator blocks out the receiver legally, then while the receiver is out of bounds the initiator is sent to the box, the receiver may still enter in front of the initiator.

http://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/221811207857743