Wednesday, July 13, 2011

6.11.1.3 When the initiating skater downs herself or falls at any time after the initiating block.

As explained Sunday (http://www.rollerderbyruleoftheday.com/2011/07/6111-re-entering-behind-initiator-of.html), after a skater has blocked out an opponent the receiver must enter behind the initiator, except in four specific situations. Today's rule is the third exception.

After a skater blocks an opponent out of bounds, if the initiator goes down, either on her own or by being blocked, the receiver may reenter the track in front of the initiator. The initiator need not fall as a result of the block she made on the receiver. The rule just says if she goes down after the block. Even if the initiator gets back up before the receiver has reentered the track the receiver may still reenter in front of the initiator so long as the initiator goes down after the block.

Something that is very important to note is that, if the receiver who is reentering in front of the initiator is a Jammer, the act of them passing the initiator and not receiving a penalty for it is what is called a "No Pass/No Penalty". What this means is that there was no penalty committed, thanks to the Cutting exception, but the pass did not count as a legal pass, which would not count as a point or as a pass for Lead Jammer eligibility. If the Jammer had not already passed the initiator legally, and they didn't repass them after the No Pass/No Penalty, then they would lose Lead Jammer eligibility if it was their initial pass, and lose that Blocker point if it was a scoring pass.

http://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/222764174429113