Thursday, July 14, 2011

6.11.1.4 When the initiating skater exits the Engagement Zone at any time after the initiating block.

As explained Sunday (http://www.rollerderbyruleoftheday.com/2011/07/6111-re-entering-behind-initiator-of.html), after a skater has blocked out an opponent the receiver must enter behind the initiator, except in four specific situations. Today's rule is the fourth exception.

After a skater blocks an opponent out of bounds, if the initiator goes out of play by leaving the Engagement Zone, either ahead of the pack or behind it, the receiver may reenter in front of the initiator.

Something that is very important to note is that, if the receiver who is reentering in front of the initiator is a Jammer, the act of them passing the initiator and not receiving a penalty for it is what is called a "No Pass/No Penalty". What this means is that there was no penalty committed, thanks to the Cutting exception, but the pass did not count as a legal pass, which would not count as a point or as a pass for Lead Jammer eligibility. If the Jammer had not already passed the initiator legally, and they didn't repass them after the No Pass/No Penalty, then they would lose Lead Jammer eligibility if it was their initial pass, and lose that Blocker point if it was a scoring pass.

http://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/223248934380637