Tuesday, July 5, 2011

6.5.1 Forearms or hands may never be used to grab, hold, or push an opponent.

Today's rule is the basics behind Use of Forearms and Hands. It's pretty simple. However, I have heard this rule misinterpreted before. Therefore I am going to post the rule again, but with my own emphasis.

6.5.1 Forearms or hands may never be used to grab, hold, or push an OPPONENT.

I have heard this rule interpreted that grabbing, holding, or pushing anyone, be they opponent or teammate, is illegal. There are, in fact, rules that govern the grabbing and holding of teammates in the Multiple-Player Blocks section, and have been covered here before. Pushing teammates may be a penalty if the push was an assist made out of play. But those are all different penalties, not Forearms and Hands. A skater will only ever get a penalty for illegal Use of Forearms and Hands when making illegal contact with an opponent, never for contact with a teammate.

http://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/219111828127681