Wednesday, July 6, 2011

6.6 Blocking With the Head The head may not be used to block an opponent. Blocking with the head is dangerous for the initiator and the receiver.

Today's rule is pretty self explanatory. Blocking with the head is unsafe. Note, this is blocking with the head, not to the head (also a penalty). That means contact from the head of the initiator. Penalties for Blocking With the Head are based on impact in the subrules of section 6.6. Because of the unsafe nature of contact with the head, even incidental contact by the head is a penalty, if it affects the skating stance of the receiver.

http://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/219573711414826