Monday, August 1, 2011

3.5 Passing the Star A Jammer may transfer her position to her team’s Pivot, allowing said Pivot to become the point-scoring skater for her team for the remainder of the jam. This is commonly referred to as “Passing the Star.” Only the position of Jammer, and not the status of Lead Jammer, may be transferred to a Pivot Blocker. … (cont.)

Star pass week! Here’s the full text of today’s rule:

3.5 Passing the Star
A Jammer may transfer her position to her team’s Pivot, allowing said Pivot to become the point-scoring skater for her team for the remainder of the jam. This is commonly referred to as “Passing the Star.” Only the position of Jammer, and not the status of Lead Jammer, may be transferred to a Pivot Blocker. If the Jammer that “passes the star” to her Pivot was Lead Jammer, that status is automatically forfeited and there is no Lead Jammer for the remainder of the jam. It is illegal to transfer the star outside of the Engagement Zone. A Pivot cannot be Lead Jammer. The position of Pivot cannot be transferred by passing the Pivot helmet cover. Violations of these outlined procedures merit Illegal Procedure penalties, as described in Section 6.13 - Illegal Procedures, to be assessed against the skater responsible for the violation.

This is the first part of the Star Pass section of the rules. It explains the concept of a star pass, which is a strategical move that transfers the position of Jammer from the Jammer to the Pivot. This rule explains many things. The first point is that the Jammer may transfer her position to her team’s Pivot, who then becomes the point-scorer for the remainder of the jam. Next, the rule explains how the status of Lead Jammer is never transferred to the Pivot. While it explains in this rule that when the Jammer passes the star the status of Lead Jammer is automatically forfeited. While that may be included in this rule, even in an unsuccessful star pass attempt the status of Lead Jammer is forfeited when the Jammer removes her helmet cover, per 3.5.4.2. The rule goes on to say that if the Jammer who passed the star was Lead Jammer, then once the status of Lead is forfeited there will be no Lead Jammer for the rest of the jam and it will go the full two minutes. The next point of the rule explains that a Pivot cannot be Lead Jammer. This may seem confusing, since Lead Jammer is a Jammer, not a Pivot. This point helps reiterate that Lead Jammer status can’t be transferred to the Pivot, but it also explains that a Pivot who has been passed the star and become Jammer can’t become Lead Jammer if it wasn’t already earned by the original Jammer. Put another way, the skater who begins the jam as Pivot may never at any point in that jam become Lead Jammer. Finally, this rule goes on to explain that any violations of the star pass procedure, which follow in Section 3.5, some of which will be covered here this week, will result in Illegal Procedure penalties.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/231770910195106