Monday, August 22, 2011

‎6.11.4 A skater who has re-entered the track in front of a skater who is “in the box,” having been sent off the track for a penalty.

Another rule from the No Impact/No penalty section of Cutting the Track, today’s rule explains that a skater who is considered “in the box” can’t be cut. What that means is that once a skater has been directed to the penalty, she is considered “in the box” (per 7.3.2.2.1) and is therefore not an in bounds, in play and upright skater, which are the only skaters around which other skaters may better their position. So, if a skater is out of bounds and returns in front of a skater who has already been directed to the box and is just leaving the track, there will be no penalty.

http://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/241811815857682