Wednesday, August 24, 2011

6.11.6 An out of bounds skater that steps one foot inside the track boundary to become a straddling skater and then steps back completely out of bounds, never removing her out of bounds contact with the floor.

One more No Impact/No Penalty rule from the Cutting the Track section, today’s rule explains there is no penalty if a skater who is out of bounds steps back on the track to become a straddling skater (meaning she is touching bout inside and outside the track boundary simultaneously with her skates) and then steps back completely out of bounds, she will not be penalized for Cutting the Track, even if she passed any number of in bounds skaters when she was straddling. She doesn’t get a CTT penalty because if she is straddling, and then completely out of bounds, she is never considered an in bounds skater, which is a requirement for a CTT penalty. Care must be taken to watch the skater’s skates, however, because straddling requires one skate in bounds, and one skate out of bounds. If the out of bounds skate is lifted at any point, and only the in bounds skate is on the floor, then that skater is considered in bounds, and will receive a Cutting penalty.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/242882392417291