Tuesday, September 13, 2011

‎6.1.1 Incidental contact to the back of an opponent that does not force the receiving opposing skater to adjust her skating stance or position in any way.

Not all contact to the back is illegal. Today's no impact/no penalty Back Blocking rule explains that contact from a skater to the back of an opponent is not to be penalized if there was no effect on the receiving skater. Thus, no impact = no penalty. It is important to note that this rule, like others of it's kind, reads that it is no penalty if the contact "does not force the receiving opposing skater to adjust her skating stance". If contact to the back happens, and then ends, and the receiver's skating is then changed, it may not necessarily have been because of the contact. It must be determined by a referee that the change in skating stance was caused by the illegal contact, or else no penalty should be called.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/252374841468046