Friday, September 16, 2011

6.5.2 Incidental forearm contact between skaters is acceptable.

Today's rule is a no impact/no penalty rule from Use of Forearms and Hands. Derby is a contact sport, and so even without trying skaters are going to make contact with illegal blocking zones and to illegal target zones. Since impact is what guides contact penalties, just as with all the others, if there is no impact from a skater making contact with an opponent using her forearms, then there is no penalty. This applies to hands as well.  http://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/253702891335241