Tuesday, October 18, 2011

‎2.4.3 There are thirty (30) seconds between jams.

Today's rule is very straightforward, but sometimes forgotten. This rule does not say that there are thirty seconds between jams unless both teams aren't ready, nor does it say there thirty second between jams unless a coach happens to be in the infield talking to a referee. Unless a timeout has been called, once the jam ending whistle of a previous jam has hit the 4th whistle blast, thirty seconds count down (or up) after which the next jam begins. If at that point one or both of the teams has too many or too few skaters in the jam, they will penalized or skate short, depending on which situation occurs. A jam timer's responsibility must be to the clock (which is required to be highly visible to both teams), not the skaters. If a coach happens to be in the infield talking to the was referee and the jam starts, they must return to their bench without interfering with the jam. A jam timer should not delay the start of a jam because a coach, Captain or DA is conversing with the head referee, unless of course instructed by said head referee to call an official timeout in situations like that, which is perfectly appropriate. Of course, at that point it is on the head referee which official timeouts they take.

As well, when returning from timeouts there is a maximum of thirty seconds that may elapse. Teams don't get until they are ready before the next jam starts. They get a MAXIMUM of thirty seconds. I emphasize maximum because after timeouts the thirty second count is not a requirement like it is between jams normally. If the teams are in position then the jam may begin before thirty seconds is over. But this may happen only after timeouts.

If no timeout is called, then there are thirty seconds, no more and no less, between jams.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/267628613276002