Friday, October 21, 2011

‎2.4.4.1 Jammers are considered in position and ready if they are in bounds when the first whistle of the jam (i.e., the whistle to start the pack rolling) is blown. Jammers are subject to false start penalties if they are not on or behind the Jammer line at the Jammer start whistle (see Section 6.13.5 for specific penalty details). ... (cont)

Full text below below:

2.4.4.1 Jammers are considered in position and ready if they are in bounds when the first whistle of the jam (i.e., the whistle to start the pack rolling) is blown. Jammers are subject to false start penalties if they are not on or behind the Jammer line at the Jammer start whistle (see Section 6.13.5 for specific penalty details). Jammers are permitted to put on their helmet covers after the jam has started. However, each Jammer must have her helmet cover in hand before the jam starting whistle. A helmet cover cannot enter a jam in progress.

Continuing with the theme of being in position, today's rule explains where a Jammer must be to be considered in position. A Jammer must be on or behind the Jammer line or she will receive a false start penalty. Behind the Jammer extends all the way around the track until the Pivot line. If a Jammer is on or behind the Pivot line she is considered out of position. However, if she is standing inches in front of the Pivot line she is still considered behind the Jammer line, just very far behind it.

Now the rule is specific that Jammers must be in position at the jam start whistle (the first whistle) but that they don't receive false start penalties until the Jammer start whistle (the second whistle). This means if a Jammer jumps the start and goes ahead of the Jammer line after the first whistle but then turns around and is back behind the Jammer line when the second whistle blows, she doesn't get a penalty for false starting.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/268952703143593