Tuesday, February 7, 2012

6.14.4 Willfully failing to leave the floor after fouling out.

This rule is an Insubordination expulsion. It is kind of an odd one. After all, if a skater has fouled out of a game, how can she then receive an expulsion? I can’t honestly answer this question. The only explanation I can personally come up with is that an expulsion is greater punishment than fouling out, which could happen as the result of 28 minors, while expulsions only happen from serious offenses. So, while the result is still the same, the skater is removed from the game, it would be recorded that she was expelled at the end. Of course, I’m not sure how that would be done, since a fouled out skater is no longer in the game, and thus can’t actually receive a penalty. I do see this rule making clear the point that skaters must leave the game floor after fouling out.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/329757320396464