Tuesday, March 6, 2012

5.2.3.1 The arm from the shoulder to the elbow

Today’s rule is one of the legal blocking zones, parts of the body that skaters may use to legally engage opponents. This blocking zone may be confusing to some, since forearms and hands have their own penalty section, but so do elbows, yet elbows are included as a legal blocking zone. That is because elbow may actually be used while blocking. There are, of course, rules governing how the elbow may not be used, and these include swinging the blow back and forth, swinging the elbow up and down, and using exclusively the point of the elbow. Otherwise, if the elbow makes contact during a legal block, it is part of a legal blocking zone.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/347851181920411