Wednesday, April 11, 2012

6.4.5 Elbows may not be used to hook an opposing skater in any way (e.g. by wrapping one’s arm around an opponent’s arm).

Part of the Use of Elbows section, today's rule explains that hooking one's arm around an opponent is illegal. The example mentions hooking an opponent's arm, however hooking an opponent's leg around the upper thigh is just as illegal. Hooking other target zones may result in different penalties appropriately. Hooking below the mid thigh may result in a low block, while hooking above the shoulders will result in a high block.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/369255149780014