Friday, June 29, 2012

4.2.5 No rules govern inside/outside positioning. Blockers may line up in any order behind the Pivots.

Today’s rule continues my recent theme of rules I find interesting. This rule isn’t all that interesting with regards to what it explains. This rule has existed since version 1.0 of the rules, but was changed to its current wording in version 2.1. In version 3.0 the rules were changed to allow Blockers to line up any any fashion before pre-jam, rather than in a very specific formation. What I find interesting about this rule is that it allows for Blockers to line up in any order “behind the Pivots”. I find this interesting because 4.2.3 allows for the non-Pivot Blockers to line up ahead of the Pivots (while still requiring non-Pivots to be behind a Pivot’s hips if the Pivot is lined up on the Pivot line). So, the rules allow for the Blockers to line up ahead of the Pivots, but only mentions that they may line up in any order behind them. Now, this rule was written when Blockers were required to line up behind the Pivots. So, now that they may line up in front of the Pivots as well, it makes sense that this rule apply to Blockers lined up in front of the Pivots as well.


https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/419272921444903