Thursday, September 6, 2012

3.5.9.2 A Pivot who has been passed the star and has become the Jammer is now subject to all rules per Section 8 Scoring. She picks up where the previous Jammer left off on points scored and number of laps through the pack. The helmet cover must be on the new Jammer’s helmet and the stars must be visible in order for the new Jammer to accrue points.

Today's rule comes from the Pass Completion part of the Star Pass section of the rules. This rule explains that once a pivot has become the jammer through a legal star pass, she is eligible to start scoring. She continues scoring where the previous jammer left off. That means, if the original jammer passed two opposing blockers and then passed the star, the new jammer would have two points when she became the jammer and would be able to score the last two opposing blocker points on that scoring pass. Another scoring situation, if the original jammer were about to lap the opposing jammer but passed the star first, then the new jammer would be able to pass the opposing jammer and score that jammer lap point. Some may argue that she wouldn't score that point since the new jammer hasn't technically lapped the opposing jammer yet. However, this rule clearly states that the new jammer "picks up where the previous Jammer left off on points scored and number of laps through the pack". So, if the original jammer were a lap ahead of the opposing jammer, then the new jammer would be as well. Of course, the same applies if the opposing jammer were the one about to score the jammer lap point.

The last part of the rule is just a reminder that to be able to score points once she becomes the jammer, the pivot must make sure she is active when the pass is complete by putting on the jammer helmet cover with the stars visible. If the pivot puts on the jammer helmet cover without the stars being visible, she will still become the jammer but will not be considered active and this will not be able to score points. If this happens she may remove the helmet cover and replace it on her helmet with the stars visible.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/443702659001929