Monday, November 26, 2012

3.2.3.1 A Pivot may skate in any direction, including out of bounds, to retrieve the Pivot helmet cover.

Today’s rule comes from the Player Positions and Identification section. This is a new rule in the current version of the WFTDA rules. Previously, the rules regarding the retrieval of dropped helmet covers were in the Star Pass section. In this version, they’ve been moved to the appropriate sections, for the helmet cover in question. This rule, regarding the pivot helmet cover, appears in the Pivot Blocker section. Also, previously, the rules made it legal only to retrieve either helmet cover while skating in the counterclockwise direction. This has been changed, and now the pivot (and jammer) helmet cover may be retrieved while skating in either direction. This is a helpful rule change, as it prevents pivots from having to skate an entire lap to retrieve a helmet cover that is clockwise of them. If they missed the helmet cover on their first try, they would have to take another lap, repeating until they retrieved the helmet cover. This also makes it easier for referees, as they no longer need to worry about the direction a pivot is moving when retrieving their helmet cover. All they need to do is make sure that the skater retrieving the pivot helmet cover is, in fact, the pivot. This rule is a subrule of 3.2.3, which says that only the pivot may retrieve their helmet cover from the ground.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/474457932593068