Tuesday, December 18, 2012

6.13.16 A skater exiting the penalty box and reentering the track in front of one opposing pack skater.

Today’s rule is an Illegal Procedure major penalty. This is a new rule in the most recent version of the rules. Previously, returning from the penalty box in front of one skater - teammate or opponent - was a minor penalty. Since minors no longer exist, this rule has been added to reflect the new way that the rules regard reentering the track illegally. This rule has the same consequence as the similar rule from the Cutting the Track section.

It must be noted that this rule penalizes exiting the penalty box and reentering the track in front of one pack skater, not one in play skater, as is the case in the Cutting rule. If a skater is in play, but not part of the pack, there will be no penalty if an opponent reenters the track from the penalty box in front of them. As well, if there is no pack when the skater reenters the track, then there are no pack skaters, thus no penalty for reentering in front of any skaters.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/483724414999753