Wednesday, December 5, 2012

6.9.4.1 A skater who is engaged in a block who then comes to a stop for any reason must cease all engagement until there is another legal opportunity to engage.

Today’s rule comes from the Direction of Gameplay penalties section. It is a No Impact/No Penalty rule. In the previous rule set, if a skater was blocking an opponent and came to a complete stop, they were given a minor penalty. Since there are no minors in the current rule set, this action has been deemed no impact. It is important to note that for this action to be no penalty, the blocking skater who has come to a complete stop must immediately cease all engagement or begin moving counterclockwise again. If they continue to engage while stopped completely, they will be penalized.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/478055625566632