Tuesday, January 22, 2013

3.4.2.3 Once the Jammer has exited the Engagement Zone that Jammer is no longer eligible to re-pass. If the Jammer has not passed all of the skaters on both teams legally and in bounds, the Jammer will be declared NOT Lead Jammer at this point.

Today's rule comes from the Lead Jammer section. 3.4.1 explains how a jammer is able to become lead jammer, by passing blockers. If a jammer becomes ineligible for lead status by getting a no pass/no penalty, they may drop back and repass the skater whom they passed while out of bounds. This rule explains that a jammer only gets until the end of the engagement zone to repass blockers to remain eligible for lead. Once a jammer has exited the engagement zone, they are no longer able to repass any blockers that were passed while out of bounds. At that point the jammer has finished their initial pass, and if they haven't already been declared lead jammer, at that point they will be declared not lead jammer.

It should be noted that this rule specifies that jammers who are not lead are declared not lead at this point. It does not say anything about whether the other jammer has been declared lead already. Thus, even if there is already a lead jammer, the second jammer is only declared not lead jammer when they exit the engagement zone, and not before then.

In the event that a jammer reaches the end of the engagement zone, and there is no pack, the language used in 3.4.2.2 should be used to determine when a jammer has finished their initial pass. This means that the jammer has completed their initial pass, and is no longer eligible to repass, when they skate 20 feet from the foremost blocker.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/499457573426437