Monday, January 14, 2013

8.3.1.4.1.2.2 The Jammer must have already scored one point on an opposing Blocker in the same scoring pass.

Today's rule is from the Scoring section, and is a subrule of 8.3.1.4.1.2, which explains that a jammer may score points for blockers who have advanced ahead of the engagement zone without having to physically pass them. Normally, this is only possible if the jam ends with the blockers ahead of the engagement zone. This rule, along with the two others after it, are the circumstances which make 8.3.1.4.1.2 possible. Per today's rule, the jammer must have already scored one point on an opposing blocker in the same scoring pass. If the jammer meets the other criteria to be awarded the points outlined in 8.3.1.4.1.2, but hasn’t met this one, then they will not be awarded the points. This rule doesn’t say how the point may be awarded, but it does say the point must be on an opposing blocker. That means a jammer lap point would not satisfy this requirement.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/495933387112189