Tuesday, February 12, 2013

4.3.4.1 If an out of play opposing Blocker initiates contact with the Jammer, the Jammer may legally counter-block

Today's rule comes from the Jam Positioning section of the rules. It is a subrule of 4.3.4 which explains that jammers may engage each other anywhere on the track. Normally, counterblocking as outlined in Section 5 is to be treated just like blocking, which would make it illegal to counterblock while out of play. That would make it illegal for a jammer to counterblock a blocker while out of play, just as engaging that blocker while out of play is illegal. However, per this rule, if a blocker engages an opposing jammer while out of play, the jammer is allowed to counterblock without being penalized.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/511685425536985