Wednesday, April 24, 2013

3.4.5 A Jammer who begins the jam in the penalty box is eligible to earn Lead Jammer status provided that the other Jammer has not already been declared Lead Jammer. A Jammer sent to the penalty box while making their initial pass through the pack is not eligible to become Lead Jammer upon re-entering the jam.

Today's rule comes from the Lead Jammer section. This rule allows a jammer who has started a jam in the penalty box the opportunity to become lead jammer. It is very important to differentiate between a jammer who has gone to the penalty box on their initial pass, and a jammer who has begun a jam in the penalty box. It's not a difficult differentiation to make, but it must be made. A jammer begins the jam in the penalty box simply be being sent to the penalty box prior to the start of that jam. Thus, if they are in the box when the jam starting whistle is blown, when they are released from the box they are eligible to become lead jammer, as long as the other jammer has not already been declared the lead jammer. This rule does not apply to a jammer who begins a jam on the jammer and is sent to the penalty box after the start of the jam.

Something to note, even if a jammer begins a jam in the penalty box, is released from the penalty box, and is eligible to become lead jammer, they become ineligible if they are sent back to the penalty box in that jam.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/539664192739108