Tuesday, April 9, 2013

8.5.6.1 When the Jammer finishes serving a penalty, the Jammer continues their scoring pass exactly where the Jammer left off. For example: If the Jammer has scored on opposing Blockers A and B when sent to the penalty box, the Jammer retains those points. When the penalty finishes in the same jam, the Jammer remains on the same scoring pass and can only score on opposing Blockers C and D. (See Section 3.4 Lead Jammer for Lead Jammer details.)

Today's rule comes from the Points part of the Scoring section. This rule explains what happens when a jammer returns to the track from the penalty box. While the rule says that a jammer continues scoring where they left off, if they haven't begun a scoring pass yet, then they don't score at all when they return to the track until they complete their initial pass. If, however, the jammer has already completed their initial pass and scored one or two points, then when they return they may not score those points again. Points that a jammer earns are scored only once per scoring pass, and are not removed even if the jammer goes to the penalty box. It is for this reason that jammer referees must pay very careful attention to which skaters were passed in a scoring pass in case their jammer goes to the penalty box. IF, like the example in the rule say, the jammer has passed opposing blockers A and B before going to the penalty box, then when they return they may score points on opposing blockers C and D as well. However, if they return from the box and only pass blocker C, and fail to pass D, that jammer's referee needs to know not to award the point for blocker D.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/534279699944224