Thursday, May 9, 2013

6.9.19 A clockwise block that forces the receiving opposing skater to lose established position. This includes forcing a skater down, out of bounds, or out of relative position.

Today's rule is a Direction of Gameplay major penalty. The current version of the rules includes a couple of new rules that differentiate between clockwise blocks that include physical contact, and positional clockwise blocks. However, these rules only apply to clockwise blocks that result in minor impact. If a skater makes a clockwise block on an opponent, either positionally or with contact, that forces the receiving skater to lose their established position, they initiating skater will receive a major penalty.

The inclusion of the phrase "established position" in this rule is deliberate and important. The receiving skater must have established their position on the track for a clockwise block to be a penalty. That means if a skater is skating clockwise and an opponent jumps into the path of the clockwise skating skater and gets knocked down, there will be no penalty. The opponent had not established their position, thus the clockwise block did not force them to lose any established position.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/545232592182268