Wednesday, June 19, 2013

4.2.6 The pack and Jammers may begin rolling at the jam-starting whistle from the Official.

Today's rule comes from the Pre-Jam Positioning section of be rules. This is a new rule in this section in the most recent version of the rules. Previously, this rule sort of existed in the now removed Starts section. However, in the previous version it said "the pack may begin rolling", which didn't mention the jammers at all. And in the version before that, it said "the pack begins rolling", which made it seem as if it was not legal to not begin rolling at the jam-starting whistle. While this is definitely semantics, it is nice to see language like this cleared up.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/562459150459612