Thursday, June 27, 2013

8.5.1.1.3 A skater who removes themselves from the track will be scored on as though they were on the track, until it has been determined they have removed themselves from play, after which point they will be considered a Not-On-the-Track (NOTT) point until they return to play, if they are allowed (see Section 10.3.3).

Today's rule comes from the Points part of the Scoring section of the rules. This rule is a subrule of 8.5.1.1, which explains when a skater becomes a Not On The Track point, meaning when they are scored upon when they aren't physically on the track. Normally, skaters are not allowed to skate out of bounds intentionally, thanks to section 6.12. However, there is a rule that makes exceptions.

6.12.4 Exiting the track as a result of injury, equipment failure, or to avoid unsafe track conditions including but not limited to fallen skaters, debris, and spills.

So, this rule explains that when a skater has removed their self from play, they become a Not On The Track point, and are scored upon once the opposing jammer earns a point on a block in a scoring pass. Now, it isn't entirely clear exactly when a skater has gone from "exited the track" to "removed themselves from play", but discretion can be used. If a jammer exits the track and is immediately lapped by the opposing jammer, that would likely be a Jammer Lap Point. However, if a jammer exits the track and sits down to fix a toe stop, and is lapped by the opposing jammer then, that would be a NOTT point, which the opposing jammer would only score after passing one of the blockers on the out of bounds jammer's team. A jammer won't get scored on over and over while fixing an equipment issue (at least not as a Jammer Lap Point), but they don't become a NOTT point immediately when they leave the track, and may be scored on after they have left the track as they are going to fix an equipment issue.

Thanks to the last bit of 8.5.1.1.3, they don't become a JLP again until they return to play - a phrase which isn't made very clear in the rules, but can be understood to mean "return to the track", based on its usage in other rules. Therefore, if a jammer has completed fixing their equipment, and has yet to return to the track, and is lapped by the opposing jammer, but returns to the track before the opposing jammer scores a blocker point, the jammer will be neither a JLP or a NOTT point. This appears to be the only way the rules allow a skater to prevent themself from being scored on without physically remaining legally in front of the opposing jammer.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/566783980027129