Friday, September 20, 2013

7.3.2 If both Jammers are seated in the box at the same exact moment, both Jammers will serve 10 seconds before they are simultaneously released back into play by the penalty box official. In all other cases, no minimum time to serve will be required.

Today's rule comes from the Both Jammers Penalized/Both Jammers Off The Track section. The intent of section 7.3 is to allow the game to continue when both Jammers are sent to the penalty box, by keeping the jam time going and swapping the jammers in the box. The other intent of section 7.3 is to stop the jam if there is a situation where one jammer is in the penalty box but no other jammer on the track. 7.3.1 allows the first penalized Jammer to be released when the second Jammer is seated. 7.3.10 allows the second penalized Jammer to be released immediately when the first penalized Jammer is serving more than one minute in the penalty box. Other rules under 7.3 stop the jam if one Jammer is in the box and the other Jammer gets injured or has an equipment malfunction, allowing that team to field another Jammer in the next jam. In all of Section 7.3, there are in fact only two situations where both Jammers may actually be absent from the track at the same time, and the jam continues.

The first situation is 7.4.1, where if the first Jammer is sent to the box, and then the second Jammer is sent to the box, and the first Jammer is sent back to the box while the second Jammer is serving her reduced time, neither is released early, and both Jammers sit in the box together until the second Jammer has finished her reduced time.

The second situation is covered by today's rule. If both Jammers sit down at exactly the same time then they both have to sit for 10 seconds and are released at the same time. If one Jammer sits before the other, even by a second, then they follow 7.3.1. But if they sit at the exact same time then they both sit for 10 seconds. It is because of that reason this rule says that in any case other than sitting at the exact same amount of time there is no minimum amount of time a Jammer may sit.

Thanks to 7.3.1.1, which says that if the jam ends with both Jammers in the box that both Jammers start from the penalty box, if both Jammers are sitting 10 seconds for sitting at exactly the same time, and the jam ends before their 10 seconds ends, both Jammers will start from the box. Similarly, if the jam ends with both Jammers on their way to the box, the same rule applies, since both Jammers are considered "in the box" after they are sent off the track. However, since they are both seated at the same time - between jams - both Jammers start from the box and serve 10 seconds, per today's rule.

As well, thanks to 7.2.4.1 a skater in the penalty box will be instructed to stand at 10 seconds left in their penalty time. So if both Jammers are seated at exactly the same time, they will be instructed to stand immediately after their time has begun.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/604511826254344