Friday, September 20, 2013

7.3.2 If both Jammers are seated in the box at the same exact moment, both Jammers will serve 10 seconds before they are simultaneously released back into play by the penalty box official. In all other cases, no minimum time to serve will be required.

Today's rule comes from the Both Jammers Penalized/Both Jammers Off The Track section. The intent of section 7.3 is to allow the game to continue when both Jammers are sent to the penalty box, by keeping the jam time going and swapping the jammers in the box. The other intent of section 7.3 is to stop the jam if there is a situation where one jammer is in the penalty box but no other jammer on the track. 7.3.1 allows the first penalized Jammer to be released when the second Jammer is seated. 7.3.10 allows the second penalized Jammer to be released immediately when the first penalized Jammer is serving more than one minute in the penalty box. Other rules under 7.3 stop the jam if one Jammer is in the box and the other Jammer gets injured or has an equipment malfunction, allowing that team to field another Jammer in the next jam. In all of Section 7.3, there are in fact only two situations where both Jammers may actually be absent from the track at the same time, and the jam continues.

The first situation is 7.4.1, where if the first Jammer is sent to the box, and then the second Jammer is sent to the box, and the first Jammer is sent back to the box while the second Jammer is serving her reduced time, neither is released early, and both Jammers sit in the box together until the second Jammer has finished her reduced time.

The second situation is covered by today's rule. If both Jammers sit down at exactly the same time then they both have to sit for 10 seconds and are released at the same time. If one Jammer sits before the other, even by a second, then they follow 7.3.1. But if they sit at the exact same time then they both sit for 10 seconds. It is because of that reason this rule says that in any case other than sitting at the exact same amount of time there is no minimum amount of time a Jammer may sit.

Thanks to 7.3.1.1, which says that if the jam ends with both Jammers in the box that both Jammers start from the penalty box, if both Jammers are sitting 10 seconds for sitting at exactly the same time, and the jam ends before their 10 seconds ends, both Jammers will start from the box. Similarly, if the jam ends with both Jammers on their way to the box, the same rule applies, since both Jammers are considered "in the box" after they are sent off the track. However, since they are both seated at the same time - between jams - both Jammers start from the box and serve 10 seconds, per today's rule.

As well, thanks to 7.2.4.1 a skater in the penalty box will be instructed to stand at 10 seconds left in their penalty time. So if both Jammers are seated at exactly the same time, they will be instructed to stand immediately after their time has begun.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/604511826254344

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

5.1.3.1 Blockers and Jammers begin at the jam-starting whistle.

Today’s rule comes from the General Blocking section. This rule was changed in the 2013 versions of the rules. Previously, this rule stated only when blockers were able to begin legally engaging. Since the rules went from two start whistles to a single jam-starting whistle, this rule now includes both jammers and blockers. That means that at the jam-starting rule, every skater may begin legally engaging each other.

This rule, while it makes sense, is really unnecessary, since a single jam-starting whistle means everyone starts at the same time, making it redundant and unneeded. I wouldn’t be surprised if it disappeared in the next version of the rules.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/603453329693527

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

6.10.17 Any illegal blocking while out of play that forces the receiving opposing skater out of their established position. This includes forcing a skater down, out of bounds, or out of relative position.

Today's rule is an Out Of Play major penalty. Like most penalties that include contact, this penalty requires major impact to be assessed. Major impact includes a loss of relative position. This includes being knocked down and out of bounds. For example, if a blocker is out of play and blocks a jammer down or out of bounds, they will receive a major penalty. Another form of impact that would be covered in this rule is a skater being put back in play. If a jammer is out of the engagement zone, they may not be legally engaged by a blocker. If a blocker engages as jammer while out of play, and the jammer ends up in the engagement zone, where they may be legally engaged, the blocker will receive a major penalty, as the jammer has lost relative position - their previous position was safer as far as legal engagement goes than their resulting position.

Since the 2013 version of the rules, this is the only blocking Out Of Play penalty that exists anymore, as there is no OOP penalty for blocks with minor impact. If a skater makes an out of play block that has major impact, they will receive this penalty. If they make an out of play block that has minor impact and receive a penalty, they are most likely receiving it for failure to return to the engagement zone (6.10.12) or failure to reform a pack (6.10.13).

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/602974123074781

Thursday, September 5, 2013

7.2.3 Penalty Box Procedures, Rights, and Restrictions When a skater is sent to the penalty box, the skater must immediately exit the track and skate to the penalty box in the counter-clockwise direction.

Today’s rule comes from the Penalty Enforcement Procedures section. This rule explains what a skater must do when a referee signals a penalty to them. There’s three distinct parts to this direction.

For starters, although not the first part of the rule, the skater must exit the track. Technically, exiting the track can be done it two ways: to the infield, and to the outside. This rule actually makes no distinction because which way the skater exits depends on where the penalty box is. If the penalty box is on the outside of the track, then the penalized skater would need to exit to the outside of the track; if the penalty box is in the infield (this is allowed) then the skater would need to exit to the infield. A skater should not be exiting the track the opposite way than is required to get to the penalty box - if the penalty box is on the outside, then exiting to the infield is not a proper exit. This also means a skater may not cut through the infield to get to the penalty box on the outside.

Second, a penalized skater must exit the track immediately. The Glossary in the rules defines immediately as “the first legal opportunity”. That means a skater who is able to immediately exit the track but fails to do so is not following this rule. It is important for referees to remember that sometimes it may not seem like a skater is exiting the track immediately, however they may be waiting for the first legal opportunity.

Lastly, penalized skaters must skate to the penalty box in a counter-clockwise direction. Rule 7.2.3.1 requires skaters to enter the penalty box in a counter-clockwise direction. If a penalized skater fails to do so, then they will be told by the penalty box official to take another lap (by using the verbal cue “color, number, skate around”, per the WFTDA Officiating Verbal Cues document).

A skater is required to do all these things, per today’s rule, however, there is not a penalty associated with failure to do all of them. If a skater fails to skate to the penalty box in a counter-clockwise direction, their consequence will be to skate a full lap to enter the box from the correct direction. If a skater exits the track the wrong way, they may be notified by the referee to go the other direction. If they fail to do so, then they will receive an Insubordination penalty. And finally, if a skater doesn’t exit the track immediately, and does so willfully in disobedience of the referee’s direction, they will receive an Insubordination penalty.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/598069866898540