Wednesday, January 8, 2014

6.10.2.3.2 A pack being destroyed as the result of a missed block. This is not the same as intentionally skating out of bounds to destroy a pack, which should be penalized according to rule 6.10.2.1.

Today's rule comes from the Out Of Play section. It is a subrule of 6.10.2.3 which explains that there are actions which are considered part of normal gameplay, and if the pack is destroyed as a result of these actions, no penalty will be issued. The first of these actions is the pack being destroyed by a skater forcing an opponent down or out of bounds.

This action happens quite often. A skater goes for a block, and ends up whiffing and flying up out of bounds. There is a rule in the Skating Out Of Bounds section that allows for this action without a penalty. However, in the case where this action happens, and the pack is destroyed as a result, today’s rule allows for no pack destruction penalty to be issued. An example of a situation where this might happen is if one black blocker is skating in a pack with all the pink blockers, with the rest of the black blockers more than ten feet away, and then that lone black blocker goes for a block and misses, ending up out of bounds. The pack would then be destroyed, however no destruction penalty would be given.

As the rule says, this exception applies only to when the pack is destroyed as the result of a missed block. If a skater skates out of bounds to intentionally destroy the pack, then that skater will receive a penalty for illegally destroying the pack. If a skater appears to have gone out of bounds as the result of a missed block, but a referee determines that their intent was to skate out of bounds to destroy the pack, that skater may receive a penalty. After all, since intent must be judged to properly issue a penalty for intentionally skating out of bounds to destroy the pack, referees must judge their intent.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/657041814334678?stream_ref=10