Wednesday, March 5, 2014

6.3.4.1 If the other Jammer is seated in the box before the first Jammer has returned to the box to serve their time, the second Jammer will remain in the box until their penalty is complete, or until the first Jammer is once again seated, whichever comes first. When the original Jammer is once again seated, they will serve the remainder of their first penalty, plus the amount of time served by the second Jammer. This combined penalty time will be served by the original Jammer regardless of the other Jammer’s actions from this point forward.

Today’s rule is from the Both Jammers Penalized/Both Jammers Off The Track section. This is a new rule in the most recent version of the WFTDA rules. This rule handles a very confusing situation that is, thankfully, also a rare one. To understand the situation, one must understand how concurrent jammer penalties are handled. 6.3 explains that when a jammer is seated in the penalty box serving their penalty time, and the other jammer sits down in the penalty box, the first jammer is released immediately, and the second jammer serves only the same amount of time as the first jammer. 6.3.11 explains that if the the first jammer seated in the penalty box is serving more than one consecutive penalty and has more than 30 seconds left, then as soon as the second jammer is seated they are released immediately, and the penalty time of the first jammer is reduced by 30 seconds. The point of these rules is to have jammers sit for the same amount of time for even numbers of penalties, so as to maximize the time that jammers are on the track.

Where today’s rule comes in is when the first jammer leaves the penalty box before their penalty time is complete, and the second jammer sits down in the penalty box before the first jammer has returned. Prior to the inclusion of this rule, it was unclear how long the second jammer would have to sit, since 6.3 only handles a situation where the first jammer is still seated in the penalty box. This rule now explains how to handle the situation. For starters, it must be noted that today’s rule is a subrule of 6.3.4, which explains that a jammer who has left the penalty box before being officially released by a penalty box official must return to the penalty box to serve the remainder of their time, no matter how small an amount, and that they are also assessed a penalty. That means a jammer who leaves the penalty box on their own with 2 seconds left of their penalty time unserved will have to return to the box, where they will then serve 32 seconds of penalty time; 2 seconds remaining from their first penalty, and 30 seconds for the penalty for leaving the box early.

Now, if the second jammer were to sit down with the first jammer not yet returned to the penalty box, they would not be able to switch with the first jammer. However, since they are serving a penalty, they must sit for some time. Therefore, today’s rule explains that if the second jammer is seated before the first jammer returns to the box, the second jammer will sit and start serving their penalty time. If their penalty time ends before the first jammer returns, then the second jammer will be released as normal. If the first jammer returns to the penalty box and sits down while the second jammer is serving their time, then the second jammer will be released, and the extra penalty issued to the first jammer for leaving the box early will be reduced to the same amount of time the second jammer served, which they will serve along with the remainder of their first penalty. For example, if the first jammer leaves early with 2 seconds left on the clock, they will have to serve 2 seconds plus 30 second for leaving early. If the second penalized jammer sits down before the first jammer returns and has served 15 seconds when the first jammer sits back down, then the second jammer will be released, and the first jammer will sit for 2 seconds plus 15 seconds. This way, both jammers will serve some time in the penalty box, but the time they are on the track is maximized.

For a graphical representation of this rule, please see this image.
https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/photos/a.181998988505632.41070.169028706469327/683572041681655/?type=3&theater

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/683572198348306