Thursday, July 17, 2014

3.2.8.1 If, after the warning, no skaters are in immediate vicinity of a skater who has false started (In the clockwise direction), the false-starting skater must come to a complete stop in order to yield. After yielding, they may skate normally.

Today’s rule continues my discussion of “Pre-Jam Positioning” under rule three, “The Pack”.

Today’s rule describes the action a skater must take if they have false started and there are no skaters around the skater who has false started. More specifically, there are no skaters in the clockwise direction from where the offending skater is. If a skater is ahead of the skater who has false started, they already have superior position, and have no need to be yielded to.

If a skater has false started, and there are no skaters in the clockwise direction in the vicinity of the false starting skater, all the false starting skater needs to do is come to a complete stop. This is different from ceasing forward momentum. The skater must come to a complete stop in order to demonstrate to the officials they have acknowledged the false start and have taken corrective action. If the skater does not come to a complete stop, they still may be penalized under 5.13.9.

If you hear your color and number followed by “False Start”, and there are no skaters behind you, simply come to a complete stop. You then may continue skating as normal.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/747882175250641