Wednesday, July 2, 2014

5.11.1 ... The outcome and aftermath of a block are complete when the receiving skater has re-established control of their own self on the track. If the receiving skater exits the track after the outcome and aftermath of a block, that skater is not required to return behind the initiator of the previous block. The skater is, however, still subject to Skating Out of Bounds penalties, and Cutting the Track penalties on skaters other than the one who initiated the block.

This rule comes from the Cutting the Track section. It is an unnumbered rule listed after 5.11.1.4. Or perhaps the text is meant to be part of 5.11.1? The indentation differs in the online vs. downloadable versions of the rules making it difficult to determine how it should be numbered within the overall rule set. Whatever its number, this rule refers to how the outcome and aftermath of a block should be assessed.

More specifically, the rule defines the aftermath and outcome of a block as continuing until a skater has re-established control of their own self on the track. In cases where a player precariously skates on one foot near the track to maintain their balance, this can take as long as five or six seconds. If during that time the player’s skate touches beyond the track boundary, the player is considered to be out of bounds. The initiator of the block also gains superior position to the now out of bounds opponent regardless of their respective positions at the time of the block.

Exiting the track after regaining control is treated as a different matter entirely, and does not give the initiator of the block an superior position. The player is still subject to a Cutting the Track penalty if they better their position against an opponent (or two teammates) while out of bounds. In addition, when exiting the track and skating out of bounds, players are subject to all of the rules in the Skating Out of Bounds subsection as well.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/740414482664077