Tuesday, July 15, 2014

5.12.14 Exiting the track due to a failed apex jump. This skater is still potentially subject to penalties under Section 5.11 Cutting the Track.

Today’s rule comes from the Skating Out of Bounds section of the rules. It is a “no impact/no penalty” reason for skating out of bounds.

The March 1, 2014 rule set codified a number of understandings among referees. Among them was the issue of what happens if a skater fails in an apex jump by landing in an upright position straddling both sides of the track boundary. In the prior rule set, this puts the skater in a sort of no-win situation. If the skater fully enters the track, they receive a cutting the track penalty for the skaters whom they jumped past. If the skater fully exits the track, they receive a skating out of bounds penalty for exiting the track of their own accord.

Because the skater was doomed either way, an understanding among referees overrode the skating out of bounds rule and allowed the player to legally exit the track. 5.12.14 was added to the new rule set to make this understanding official.

New related rule 5.12.10.2 also extends the above rule by saying that a skater doesn’t actually have to fail an apex jump. Simply believing they went out of bounds either during the takeoff or landing of an apex jump is sufficient to allow the skater to legally exit the track.

Today’s rule would not include a player whose apex jump fails, but does not exit the track due to the failed jump. For example, the skater would receive a penalty in this scenario: an apex jump that crash lands in the middle of the track, but then the skater crawls off the track so they can legally repass any blockers they bypassed in the air. Leaving the track “due to” a failed jump (legal) is not the same as “following” one (penalty).

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/746882805350578