Wednesday, July 23, 2014

5.12.15 Being propelled fully out of bounds by a teammate. The out-of-bounds skater is still potentially subject to pack destruction penalties (see Section 5.10 Out of Play).

Today’s rule is simple and self-explanatory, but has never been formalized in the rules. Now it is. If a teammate pushes, blocks, knocks, or otherwise sends you sends zooming out of bounds, you do not receive a Skating Out of Bounds penalty.

If you are a blocker and your exit from the track causes the pack to be destroyed then you are still liable for a “destroying the pack” penalty.

This completes my series on new rules covering legal reasons a player can skate out of bounds. I’ll be back Monday to discuss new reasons why a player can be penalized for doing so.

https://www.facebook.com/RollerDerbyRuleoftheDay/posts/750522878319904